The Borough Clerk's Office is responsible for administering all Borough elections. The regular Borough election is held on the first Tuesday in October of each year to elect members to the Borough Mayor, Assembly and School Board.  Propositions, as approved by the Assembly or by initiative petition, may also be included on the ballot.

The 2021 Regular Borough election will be held on Tuesday October 5, 2021. 

October 5, 2021 Borough Election Timeline

Candidate Filing

Each year the Ketchikan Gateway Borough has elective seats open for the offices of members of the Borough Mayor and Assembly, and School Board Members. In order for a candidate's name to appear on the ballot, qualified candidates must declare candidacy and submit the required paperwork to the Borough Clerk between August 2 and 25th.

Qualified candidates must submit the completed declaration of candidacy  along with the signatures of at least ten (10) qualified Borough voters.

All candidates must also complete and submit the 2021 APOC Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement. These forms must be submitted together to the Borough Clerk's Office no later than 5:00 p.m. on August 25, 2021. For information regarding candidate and official disclosure statements or to file a disclosure statement online, contact the Alaska Public Offices Commission

The following seats, currently held by these officials, will be on the October 5, 2021 ballot for election:
 Assembly (2) 3-yr terms Sven Westergard
Felix Wong (termed out)
 School Board (3) 3-yr terms
Nicole Anderson
Kim Hodne
Doug Gregg (seat vacated by Sonya Skan)

Election Ballots

Sample ballots for the October 5, 2021, Borough election will be available on September 15, 2021. 

    Voter Registration

    In order to be a qualified voter of the Borough you must be registered to vote in State elections at a residence address in the Ketchikan Gateway Borough not less than 30 days prior to the election. Residents may register to vote at the Borough Clerk's Office and may also register or update voter information online using the State of Alaska's new online voter registration system at https://voterregistration.alaska.gov/

    Voter registration is administered by the State Division of Elections.

    Voting Precincts

    For the convenience of the voters, the Borough has seven precincts with a designated polling place in each precinct.  The table below provides detailed information on the polling places.

    1. Polling Places
    2. Candidate Information
    3. Absentee Voting
    Precinct Location
    Ketchikan No. 1
    Gateway Recreation Center
    601 Schoenbar Rd.
    Ketchikan No. 2
    The Plaza
    2417 Tongass Avenue
    Ketchikan No. 3
    AMHS Ferry Terminal
    3501 Tongass Avenue
    North Tongass No. 1
    North Tongass Fire Station 6
    7550 North Tongass Hwy
    North Tongass No. 2
    North Tongass Fire Station 8
    13110 North Tongass Hwy
    Saxman Community Center
    2841 South Tongass Hwy
    South Tongass
    South Tongass Alliance Church
    376 Old Homestead Road